This is not a blog post

A couple months ago, my husband brought me a gift of Keri Smith’s Wreck This Journal, a journal that you’re pretty much supposed to annihilate. When writing to ask about Wish Jar, her blog, I told Keri that I have been randomly smearing, thumbprinting, torching, and fruit-stickering my Wreck This Journal with abandon. I’ve even stamped and addressed it. I plan to mail it to myself from Happy Camp, Calif. Because … who doesn’t want a journal from Happy Camp?

This is what Keri had to say about blog motivation:

In my case, I suppose I too have not been writing on the blog as much as I used to.  This is due in large part to the fact I have a toddler, and I do much less of everything in general.  But I will admit to a bit of malaise with regard to the blogging world.  What used to be an exciting and new medium has slowly become a little formulaic or redundant.  I find myself yearning to push the blog to some kind of new place, use the medium to some kind of advantage, yet I don’t know what that is just yet.  The only real answer I have to your question of how to stay motivated is that because I often use it as a creative medium I find that it feels good to put stuff out into the world.  Even if it is some small and seemingly insignificant thing.  A few words, or a quote.  Or even things I find on the street.  Things I like looking at.  All can be interesting and help me to feel like I am getting something out, which is very good for me with so much time going to my child these days.  I don’t put any pressure on myself to make it “good”.  The only goal is to get something out.  Anything.  Often it is the simplest things that others respond to the most.

wreck journal
Keri Smith's other books include This Is Not a Book, The Guerilla Art Kit, and How to Be an Explorer of the World.
Leave a Reply

