David

In 1991 a vandal attacked the most recognizable statue in the history of art with a hammer, damaging the toes of the left foot before being restrained. That same summer I spent ten minutes admiring David’s marble toes. First I admired the chipped digits of the biblical king’s left foot. Then I compared those with the protuberances of his right foot …  I needed the ten minutes of toe-gazing to get a hold of myself. The rest of youthful David had me flaring my nostrils and fanning my face with a purse-wrinkled Uffizi Gallery brochure.

I don’t remember David’s thumbs. Unable to reach those lofty digits, the vandalist hadn’t bothered with them either. 

One thought on “David

Leave a Reply

